## SONOMA LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION

111 SANTA ROSA AVENUE, SUTIE 240, SANTA ROSA, CA 95404 (707) 565-2577 www.sonomalafco.org

# Staff Report

Meeting Date: April 5, 2023

Agenda No: Item 5.1

Agenda Item Title: Election of Officers and Appointment to Standing Committees

Proposal: Staff is requesting that the Commission elect a Chair and Vice

Chair for terms ending in June 2025.

Environmental

Determination: Not a project under CEQA

Staff Contact: Mark Bramfitt

### **Analysis**

## **Background**

The Commission's Rules of Procedure state that, at the June meeting of each oddnumbered year, the Commission shall elect its officers: a Chair and a Vice Chair.

In relation to election of officers, the Rules of Procedure also state:

- The Chair and Vice Chair shall not be members of the same appointing authority (county, city, special district and public).
- The terms of the Chair and Vice Chair shall be for two years.
- The Chair position shall be limited to one two-year term.
- Should the Chair or Vice Chair cease to be a member of the Commission, the Commission shall elect a successor to fill the unexpired term of the position at the next regular Commission meeting following the occurrence of the vacancy.
- The Chair shall preside at Commission meetings and shall conduct the business of the Commission in the manner prescribed by these rules. If the Chair is not present, the Vice Chair shall preside at the meeting. If neither the Chair nor Vice Chair is present, the Executive Officer will preside until a Chair is elected, from those Commissioners present, to act as Chair for the meeting. The Chair shall preserve order and decorum and shall decide questions of order subject to action of a majority of the Commission. The Chair shall be permitted to participate in debate without surrender of the chair.

Commissioner Stafford served as Chair until her resignation from the Commission in December 2022. As the Commission would be seating two new city members, it was decided to hold the election of a new chair until the April meeting. Vice Chair Commissioner Kapolchok has been acting as Interim Chair.

In 2002, the Commission established, by resolution, two standing committees. The resolution states:

- 1. A Budget Committee and a Policy Committee are established as standing committees of the Commission.
- 2. Each standing committee will meet and report to the full Commission.

The Commission appoints members of the standing committees, on recommendation of the Commission Chair. Counsel has advised that only three regular Commission members can sit on a committee in that more than that would constitute a quorum of the Commission, a violation of the Brown Act. In addition, Commission policy states that alternate members may be assigned to only the specific standing committee on which a regular member from the same category as the alternate (county, cities, special districts, and public) serves.

The current committee members are as follows:

Budget Committee: Commissioners Hemmendinger and Gore Policy Committee: Commissioners Kapolchok and Holmer

Staff recommends that the Commission change the name of the Budget Committee to the Fiscal Committee to better reflect the work of the Committee.

### Recommendation

Staff recommends that the Commission:

- Elect a Chair and Vice Chair for terms ending in June 2025
- Upon recommendation from the Chair, appoint members to the Commission's standing Budget and Policy Committees
- Change the name of the Budget Committee to the Fiscal Committee

#### **Alternate Recommendation**

The Commission may determine to move the election of officers and appointment of members to the standing committees to a later meeting.